The Internet is a vast source of information.  Here are just a few websites that you can access for historical content, instruction, and technical, procedural and gardening resources. 

If you know of other websites that would be helpful or interesting to other branches, please click here to share the website name and link.

New Resource:

Smithsonian’s free online gardening program, Let’s Talk Gardens, covers a wide range of topics presented by their  professional staff, as well as guest speakers. No matter your level of gardening knowledge, there’s always something new to learn! Join us on Thursdays at 12:00 PM EST for this popular webinar series. You can watch past webinars in our online library at any time. 

Click the image below to sign up.


Farm & Garden Related Resources

 

US National Arboretum  https://www.usna.usda.gov

Meadow Brook Hall    www.meadowbrookhall.org

Ambler Campus, Temple University   https://ambler.temple.edu

The Henry Ford    www.thehenryford.org

“Alma’s Gardener: Louisa King,” online exhibit by Emma Curie, Clarke Historical Library,Central Michigan University.  www.clarke.cmich.edu

                                            
“Fruits of Victory: The Woman’s Land Army of America in the Great War,” by Elaine F. Weiss,
   www.elaineweiss.com

Schlesinger Library, History of Women in America, Radcliffe Institute.Harvard University.                                              www.radcliffe.harvard.edu/schlesinger-library/collections

 


 

 

 

 Garden Publications & Blogs

 

   Horticulture                                     http://www.hortmag.com/
   Michigan Gardener                        http://www.michigangardener.com/
   Green Prints                                     http://greenprints.com/
   Garden Gate                                    http://www.gardengatemagazine.com/
   Fine Gardening                                http://www.finegardening.com/
   Jenny Rose Carey’s blog                 https://beforeyougarden.com/
   David Moore blog                           https://greenyardmaster.com/

 


 


 

Local and Regional

 

U-M Herbarium                                                                       http://lsa.umich.edu/herbarium/
U-M Matthaei Botanical Gardens                                         http://www.lsa.umich.edu/mbg/
Michigan State University Horticultural Gardens              http://www.hrt.msu.edu/our_gardens
I Love Gardens                                                                         http://www.ilovegardens.com/Michigan%20Gardens.htm
             Index of public and private gardens to visit, searchable by state
Belle Isle Conservancy                                                             http://www.belleisleconservancy.org/
Detroit Riverfront                                                                     http://www.detroitriverfront.org/
International Wildlife Refuge Alliance (Detroit River)         http://www.iwralliance.org/

 


 

 

 

Birds and Nature

 

  Cornell Lab of Ornithology                        http://www.birds.cornell.edu/page.aspx?pid=1609
  ebird.org                                                       http://ebird.org/

 


 


 


Regional Plant Nurseries

 

Walters Gardens, Zeeland MI                     http://www.waltersgarden.com
Arrowhead Alpines, Fowlerville  MI           http://arrowheadalpines.com/
Native Plant Nursery, Ann Arbor MI          http://www.nativeplant.com/index.html
Old House Gardens, Ann Arbor MI            http://oldhousegardens.com/

 


 

 

 

General Gardening Resources

 

Dave’s Garden                                                       http://davesgarden.com/
Active plant database and online community forum; plant nursery ratings
National Gardening Association                         https://garden.org/  
Vegetable Gardening                                            http://www.vegetablegardener.com/
National Garden Bureau                                      http://ngb.org 
Bug Guide                                                               http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740 
Michigan Insect Guide                                          http://www.knowyourinsects.org/
Missouri Botanical Garden                                  http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/
Pollinator conservation                                        http://www.xerces.org/
         Extensive information on protecting bees, butterflies, and other invertebrates
US and International Gardens                            http://www.gardenvisit.com/
Planters Place                                                        http://www.plantersplace.com/
         Ask the Expert; garden blogs and videos; community forum; more

 


 


 

Horticultural Therapy

 

American Horticultural Therapy Assn               http://ahta.org/horticultural-therapy
Michigan Hort Therapy Assn                     
                                         https://www.facebook.com/Michigan-Horticultural-Therapy-Association-MHTA-266245156762047/?fref=nf

 


 

Picture Michigan Extension Service and Michigan 4-HMichigan State University Extension https://www.oakgov.com/msu/Pages/newsletters.aspx​
MSU – Michigan 4-H Foundation         http://msue.anr.msu.edu/resourcesmichigan_4_h_foundation
MSU – 4H Youth Development                   http://msue.anr.msu.edu/topic/info/4_h
Michigan Master Gardener Association   http://www.michiganmastergardener.org/
MSU Extention – Deer Oh Deer                    http://msue.anr.msu.edu/news/oh_deer_oh_dear

 


 

Fundraising & Nonprofits

 

Mobile Cause – Fundraising Ideas for NonProfits                             www.mobilecause.com/fundraising-event-ideas/
Nonprofit Expert -Resources for Nonprofits                                     http://www.nonprofitexpert.com/

 


 

 

 

Parliamentary Procedure

 

Roberts Rules Online                                                    http://www.rulesonline.com/
National Association of Parliamentarians                http://www.parliamentarians.org/about/parliamentary-basics/

 


 


 

Technical Resources (printing/design/web/computer)

 

Small PDF                                                                                                https://smallpdf.com/
                       Tools for working with PDFs (compression, formats)
Website design                                                                                       https://www.thesitewizard.com/
SmartPress                                                                                              http://smartpress.com/
                       Online print service, with easy estimate interface

 


 

Picture Fun Stuff

Great quotes for every occasion                http://www.quotegarden.com/
How to do things better                               http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/